Print Page

Wyoming Exemptions

Legal Disclaimer: The following is basic legal information, provided as a public service by Wyoming’s lawyers. The information provided is not a substitute for speaking to an attorney. Only an attorney can give you legal advice regarding your specific situation. Click here for help finding a lawyer.

Major State Exemptions and Limits:


The homestead may consist of a house on a lot or lots or other lands, a farm consisting of any number of acres, or a house trailer or other moveable home which is being used as the residence of the debtor.

Note: Tenancies by the entirety are exempt without limit as to debts of one spouse. Spouse or child of deceased owner may claim exemption. Joint owners may double.

Wyo. Stat. §§ 1-20-101 through 1-20-104

Real Property up to $20,000

Clothing, including wedding rings

Wyo. Stat. § 1-20-105


Furniture, bedding, provisions and other household articles of any kind or character as the debtor may select.

Wyo. Stat. § 1-20-106

Up to $4,000 per person

Other personal property

Firearms and ammunition

Wyo. Stat. § 1-20-106

Up to $3,000 and 3 firearms; 1,000 rounds of ammunition per firearm

Tools of trade or profession

Wyo. Stat. § 1-20-106


Motor vehicles

Wyo. Stat. § 1-20-106


Wages (wage garnishment laws)

Wyo. Stat. §§ 1-15-5111-15-408; Wyo. Stat. §§ 40-14-505

Special categories:

The greater of the following: 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage or minimum of 75% of disposable weekly earnings.

Life insurance proceeds

Pensions and retirement savings

Note: Federal bankruptcy law automatically exempts most tax-exempt pensions and retirement savings accounts from bankruptcy. 11 U.S.C. § 522(b)(3)(C).

Public benefits